A watercolour shoe fetish!

Posted: June 1, 2017 in Art, art style, editorial, process, Uncategorized, watercolour
Tags: , , , , ,

I seem to have spent much of May painting watercolour shoes. First I tried out some new Canson XL 300 gsm watercolour paper and did a few trials of modern ones. I do find feet shapes hard for some reason. But the painting was fun. And I added some scrawled pen lines as they were casual images really.

WC shoe collection

And then, because it had been so much fun, I had the bright idea of  pretending to illustrate a historical article on the evolution of women’s shoes. The first image is a sort of introduction to how we have always focused more on women’s shoes and feet. The others are from 16th, 17th-18th, 19th and 20th centuries respectively. The reason they are on a background is to give them some uniformity, like make them a set. I chose a clock face to indicate “timeline”, then gave them a segment each and simply positioned the shoe on the segment.

Screen Shot final feet

Screen Shot final 16th c

Screen Shot final 17th c

Screen Shot final 19th c

Screen Shot final 20th c

Comments
  1. Nice illustrations, Eleanor! 🙂

    I especially like this thick-soled shoe, though I think these were very strange things. How you supposed to walk in these? I can only imagine how many broken legs they brought. :S 😀

    Like

    • I don’t think I could walk in any of them! But some have been back in fashion from time to time. But the fun thing is, they are so much more interesting to paint!! Thanks for commenting. Pleased to see you here!

      Like

Leave a Reply

