Pretending to do a woodblock

Posted: September 7, 2016 in art style, illustration, learning, process, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

I read on a website that it was possible to use a gouache and Indian ink technique to  imitate a woodblock printing, complete with stray dots of black on it and rough edges! You can find the post here on Elfwood. You paint thick gouache on watercolour paper, let it dry, cover it with Indian ink (evenly, I discovered), and when dry rinse it thoroughly and the gouche lifts off the ink (mostly, leaving the famous dotty effect), and embeds itself in anything you left plain paper.

Needing a good distraction from cleaning the house or fathoming how to use Instagram on my desktop (have found that using Gramblr is the solution), I spent time over four days making four images – the pre-image (which I won’t show you) was a disaster, as I mistakenly used soluble ink. I then dug out the real stuff and had more success.

assembled-woodblock-images

However, it is time consuming, if fun, and I need to get some editing done this week too. I was disappointed, also, not to get the really bright afterimage that the author of the Elfwood post did. Might be my limited selection of 3 cool and 3 warm of each of the primary colours. Mixing greens and oranges, for instance, led to one or the other ingredient rinsing off faster than the other, thus changing green to yellowy green pretty fast, and orange to a pale shadow of itself. Sad really.

I do like the vignetted edges I introduced, though, and I consider the time well spent 🙂

I have now also set myself up at eleanorpatrickillustrator on Instagram.

Comments
  1. They turn out pretty cool, I think! 🙂 Very interesting technique.

    Like

Leave a Reply

