Portfolio woes!

Posted: September 1, 2016 in artwork for children, illustration, process, thoughts
Tags: , , ,

I spent yesterday upgrading (ruining?) my illustration portfolio site. I think it works now. At one point it had no home page and now it probably has two of every page, but if I delete one, the other goes too. Since I first started with WordPress, they have upped their offerings, complexity, usefulness and instructions so much that I find it hard to manage my way through to do what I want.

I had two aims in mind:

  1. Limit what was on the site so that art directors could immediately find relevant, good stuff.
  2. Make the landing page be the portfolio itself. In other words ‘About’ could be less obvious at first.

You know how they say, with editing your novel, ‘kill your darlings’? Well, I’ve removed my fine art and my sketches and my photo artistry images. I’ll decide what to do with those later. They are not going to aid my illustration aims, so they had to go. Focus, focus!

What is left is a portfolio of editorial illustration and a portfolio of children’s illustration. I shall regularly add new work and remove older stuff. There’s a lot of competition out there and I need to make it easier to be seen, and to develop my style in each discipline to be recognisable. Hopefully desirable too.

The two portfolios that now remain sit side by side (by some miracle at midnight!) and my next aim is to make the images within them sit in a block too. I have no idea how, but it can be done, they say.

If you want to look and offer feedback, that would be great. If you understand how the Qua theme works, even better. I’m all ears 🙂 You can find me at eleanorpatrickillustration.com.

Here is my latest biro girl with background. Exam results came out last week.

certificate girl

Leave a Reply

