Back to biro

Posted: August 26, 2016 in art style, artwork for children, illustration, process, thoughts
Tags: , ,

I spent a long time doing biro sketches of children last year. I still love using a scribbly biro and have been tempted to ditch heavier ink outlines and revert to type!

Anyway, I just painted this little toddler tennis star and was wondering about a background for him. I decided to sketch the flowers in his garden in biro (ball point, if you call it that), and then simply locked the unused pixels on the flower layer and brushed various colours over the linework to make a background without it being intrusive.

I had my doubts at first, despite liking it, but then changed it to mono to check the tonal range of the whole piece, and it’s not bad. In a picture book, it would need some darker darks somewhere.

I’ll put both colour and mono versions here so you can see for yourself what you think of ‘coloured’ biro backgrounds of this sort! The mono version would probably work quite well for a chapter book illustrated in black and white. I think I always assumed they were done in shades of grey but recently saw some artist finals for a chapter book and they were in colour, although eventually printed in mono. I live and learn!

tennis toddler with flowers

tennis toddler with flowers 2

 

 

Comments
  1. Both are great, Eleanor, but I personally love the mono version more. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

