A scribbly virtual brush

Posted: May 22, 2016 in art style, illustration, Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

I love scribbling my sketches and outlines – they seem so much more alive than a single beautifully crafted line. So I tried in Illustrator. Making a custom brush is hardly my main priority in life but sometimes a technique or tool just grabs you. I’d invented this brush under guidance, and I used it to do a Retro VW, which you can see in my Skillshare project here. Then I decided to apply the brush to a couple of my own imported sketches, and this is the result.

scribbly juggler

sketched juggler re-outlined with my custom scribbly brush made in Ai

scribbly violinist

violinist re-outlined with my custom scribbly brush made in Ai

I like the idea but this isn’t quite the effect I’m after. so I will invent another brush and try again. This result is still too sober for me. But maybe that’s because the fills are a tad boring!

Apart from that, I’ve been getting the journal I edit off to press and sorting out samples to take to my SCBWI weekend picture book retreat that I mentioned here. I’m thinking to take a few of my picture book texts and some samples of artwork to prove I can do characters from different angles and develop them. Plus I’ll take the dummy of my out-of-print picture book. I don’t know yet who the other weekend facilitator is or which agents, editors and others will be there. So I’m just thinking ahead and plotting!

Comments
  1. Wow this is very cool! Is this your usual style?

    Like

    • Thank you! Wow is a very nice comment about my art and I’m glad you bothered! I have a few different styles as I link digital with real more and more. Maybe I’m still finding my way – on the other hand, do I want to solidify in one style?? If you scroll down you will see a few different ones. I’ll go and look at yours now!

      Liked by 2 people

      • You’re very welcome! I’ve always struggled with illustrator myself so its great to see what you can achieve from it! I am very much the same, I question if I’m on the way to finding a style or if my work is meant to be different. That I’m always changing, growing? I’ll do that right now, and thank you!

        Like

Leave a Reply

