Pursuing my aims

Posted: January 16, 2016 in art style
Tags: , ,

Long time no post! But I have been really busy doing what I said I would. Firstly, I’ve been working with a mentor to experiment some more with editorial illustration and I’ve completed three tasks on time and successfully. We even mocked up an art director asking for changes! Isn’t it hard to change your first, proud, precious ideas? Much like when an agent wants a rewrite of parts of your book. How dare they! Anyway, here is one of those try-outs, regarding a fast-service bistro at a station, where the passengers pre-order by text msg and collect their food in just 30 seconds:

bistro v small for web

In retrospect I would omit the sign at the bottom left – it caused me colour-bother and is definitely best not there! I wanted to keep the eye from straying outside the boundary, but it doesn’t really work.

I was pleased with my background and composition though, and it met the brief (reverse-engineered in vague terms by my mentor from an article he found. I didn’t see the original illustration but I like mine overall. Not often I say that 🙂 I used both Photoshop and Manga Studio 5 (Clip Studio Paint). This is a very small jpg of it and spoils the colour boundaries a lot, but my broadband is impossible these days. Imagine a 12MB PNG instead?

And – completing my report of getting things done – I am nearly through with drafting a re-illustration of my book. To see how it was looking, I made a mini book complete with text. I printed each spread on inkjet watercolour paper and folded it in half and glued it to the ones before and after. Interesting to see what it might look like. Also what it must NOT look like! Lots of redrawing needed, then.

Benj mini book

And occasionally I do some real work…

 

Leave a Reply

