Block gestures and snowmen bases

Posted: October 22, 2015 in art style, artwork for children, process
Tags: , , , , , ,

I’ve been trying out using blocks as the gesture basis for posing people. The idea was to do as many as I could think of, without actually thinking too much, in just a few minutes. Later, I scanned them in and added pencil lines to tidy them up on one layer, then a pen layer, and then some colour on another layer – all in Photoshop this time.

It’s not entirely successful with my current skill level, but it at least gave me an opportunity to tidy up the poses a bit and have them as a reference for when I need some similar ones.

These were the original block gestures in my A4 sketchbook. You can tell they were done at speed!

A4 set of block gestures done in 5 minutes in Pitt pen in my sketchbook.

A4 set of block gestures done in 5 minutes in Pitt pen in my sketchbook.

These were the final colour versions completed in Photoshop. I’ve turned off the scanned sepia pen layer and the digital pencil layer, and added a white background layer, but left the digital pen layer showing. The colour layer was on top set to Multiply.

I used  Kyle Webster  brushes: Animator Pencil New, Thick ‘n Thin (pen) and nu-pastel to colour. He does some great brush bundles at ridiculously cheap prices for Photoshop.

Coloured in Photoshop with Kyle Webster's

Coloured in Photoshop with Kyle Webster’s “nu-pastel” brush

I then bought Lynne Chapman’s new Craftsy video on Expressive Picture Book Characters and tried out her method of building children’s book characters from a basic snowman shape. Interesting! But it’s a really good craftsy vid – clear, showing the drawing method constantly, showing examples from her book large on screen rather than passing quickly over them, and is so full of tips it begs to be emptied! Into my brain hopefully 🙂 Go see?

Using a 'snowman base' for the character, as suggested by Lynne Chapman.

Using a ‘snowman base’ for the character, as suggested by Lynne Chapman.

All feedback welcome!

Comments
  1. Sharon Mann says:

    Great collection of action poses. Thanks for the information about your helpful tools.

    Like

  2. It does look fun now that I see them again! I might do some more, but of my new children’s book character. So much going on! Where do we find the time to draw? Thanks for dropping by!

    Like

  3. Ompong says:

    I can’t explain how I find your drawings so inspiring and wonderful… I wish I have hands like yours.

    Like

Leave a Reply

