Illustration diploma marches on

Posted: July 11, 2015 in art style, process
Tags: , , , , ,

There are just so many avenues to walk down that sometimes I feel I’m in a maze. Still, if I look at progress over the last few years, that would be two books, two little people’s books (all awaiting something happening to them) plus learning to draw, paint and go digital – all at the same time.

So I’m concentrating this week and next on finishing assignment 4 for the London Art College’s Illustration Diploma. This is maybe their newest course – it came out this year. The tutor is the cartoonist and illustrator Spencer Hill who’s really good at communicating with students and getting the best out of them. He’s just published a very funny book called Cartoons From the Horse’s Mouth, which makes a great gift for anyone mad about horses or in the know. But that’s beside the point here.

My point is that I am choosing one path for a week or two so that I really get my ideas down for the thumbnails and developments for the latest assignment. The course covers many kinds of illustration: song lyrics, poetry, graphic design, editorial, sequential and children’s. There are several things to do for each assignment, both in design/concept and finalised form. Importantly, the briefs are like real-world ones.

Here are three final pieces from my previous assignment – the graphic design ones. Others students on the course may be doing better than me for all I know, but for me these are as good as it gets until I’ve walked this path further 🙂 I hope they give you an idea of what the course is like.

cafe sign

A shop sign for a cafe that also sells magic equipment

company logo

Two-colour logo for Ant Computer Developments to use in many ways – the proper version does not have a grey background outside the letter, by the way!

dance band logo

A dance band’s logo – I called them Dance Mad

Leave a Reply

