Frustrated illustrator finds a treasury of videos

Posted: August 27, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

In truth, I am a foiled children’s book illustrator. Not that it’s important. In the current climate, we stand little chance of being published whether we write the books or illustrate them. But it eats away at my soul. I keep wondering if I can bribe St Peter to let me try again with a different career before throwing in the towel and fixing on my wings.

Justin Cook at Folio Academy

Anyway, while I should have been sorting the order of scenes in my new YA novel, I have spent the morning faffing with Adobe Illustrator (a particular tool is defeating me). But it all started with folioacademy.com, which has recently been set up to sell art vids to people like me who are amateur and wish to improve. The one in question was the one on Digital Inking and Colouring by Justin Cook. Well it is bank holiday. I’m entitled to a little play, surely. And I’ve had a great time. I have collected seven of their tutorials – many of which are by the lovely Will Terry,  and they’re well worth the small outlay.

Will Terry video

But now, without a moment’s backward glance at the career that might have beckoned, I’m opening up Scrivener to continue writing. Four more days (at least) of relative freedom mean I can get on in peace and try to achieve something in this life – never mind a second life, which may or may not be on offer.

If you’ve written your quota today, go have a peek at Folio Academy and be tempted.

Leave a Reply

