An announcement – paltry but important

Posted: June 26, 2011 in Uncategorized

Some people announce it’s their launch day.
Some people announce they have a contract with a publisher for one or more books.
Some people announce they have secured the services of an agent.

Yes, well. This announcement is something less than those. But although it may sound paltry, it is pretty important to me. One, because it’s an achievement to mark up. Two, because it may encourage you to persevere too.

The announcement is that I have finally finished my redrafting and “perfecting” of my story for boys of 7-9. It has now regained both arsenic and divinity (see my last post) and I’m pleased with it.

Perhaps more than that, I’m dead proud of having hacked away at my brilliant prose and reshaped the plot to be better than it was. That takes guts. Something I wasn’t sure I had when faced with the task.

All I can say is, wow, I’m so glad I did. The story is far better. And the book will stand a greater chance of being taken up.

“Up” as in up through that chain of announcements at the top. Aim high, they tell us. I am. Watch this space.

And while you do, there is going to be an online LitFest for children’s authors on 9-10th July. See here for details. It looks fabulous. Do join in.

 

Leave a Reply

