12 tales a-twirling

Posted: December 26, 2010 in short stories
Tags: , , , ,

I haven’t written a short story for a women’s magazine for a while. And I don’t go in for New Year resolutions (note this is Boxing Day not New Year!). But I do think it’s great fun to do short stories and I have managed to sell quite a few over the years.

So – what’s this about twirling?

Well, yesterday (Christmas Day, Nativity, new birth and all that) I had the bright idea of interweaving my novel writing and editorial work with one short story a month in 2011. Might be just the thing to keep me on track with all my writing.

Scrivener

So between Christmas crackers, I set up a template in Scrivener to hold the first six (they say you have to treat future goals as already present in order to trick your mind into taking them seriously) but that left the tiny problem of what to write for January.

So here I am today still in bed, keeping warm and cosy, when this tiny problem crops up again. So I pick up Writers’ Forum to read (the easier option) and that’s when it hits me: one winning gangster story contains the sentence: “The van screeches to a halt.” I instantly pictured my own son in his twenties turning up in our drive in a kit car he’d built (more of a brrm brrm than a screech, I have to say) – and here it is, a whole story fully formed in my mind. The event of the kit car will encircle a narrative with a “car” leitmotiv and cover an emotional tale of a son actually fulfilling an innocent wide-eyed promise made as a three-year-old to his mum.

I’ll let you know how I get on. But one important part of this idea is that I have set up a page for every story to track its submission history (hopefully with only one item needed on each page!). But look – if I don’t submit, how will it sell?

Here’s to my 12 tales a-twirling through 2011.

Comments
  1. Bec says:

    I like the look of your blog, Eleanor! Good luck with your writing in 2011…

    Like

Leave a Reply

